Face It, Tiger…You Just Hit The Jackpot!

Face front, True Believers! There’s few moments in comicdom as classic as when nerdy Peter Parker finally meets redhead sexbomb Mary Jane Watson. We first heard about MJ way back when Snazzy Steve Ditko was drawing the comic, but didn’t actually see her face until Amazing Spider-Man #42 when Jazzy Johnny Romita was on pencil duties.

Here’s how that momentous moment went down, followed by all the homages I could find. Just hover the mouse over the pics to see where they came from, and if I’ve missed any, let me know. You’ll even get a No Prize!

About bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

i am a mild-mannered reporter and a part-time bar man. guinness is my drink. john wayne is my hero. i am kind to animals
This entry was posted in Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Face It, Tiger…You Just Hit The Jackpot!

  1. felix says:

    wow – I never knew! The original is still the best.

  2. Wil says:

    Wow! Apart from the Adam Hughes Back Issue cover that’s a whole mess of ugly artwork in those ‘homages’.

  3. Jeff says:

    Thirteenth picture down is not from a What If…it’s from Spectacular Spider-Man #220, a within-canon issue wherein Peter discovers Mary Jane is pregnant.

  4. Pingback: Wer (oder besser was) ist Mary Jane? « USA Erklärt

  5. Pingback: Face it, tiger | The abandoned place

  6. design t says:

    Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  7. lose weight says:

    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article
    like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did,
    the web will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

