I’m A Barman No More!

After eight years working as a part-time barman, I finally packed it all in last night. I began working in Strathclyde Union’s Barony Bar way back in 2000 because I was skint and thought I’d only be there six months until my money worries cleared up. The cash flow problems eased up a long time ago, but I kept the bar work on because it was a blast. And it paid for my comics habit every month.

I really did enjoy it though. I made some of my best friends through the bar.  For most of my eight years I did at least 20 hours a week, sometimes as much as 30. I was asked to be a chargehand in my first year, but I couldn’t be bothered with the hassle and responsibility of counting the tills and so on. The good thing was that since it’s a student bar it was only open for around half the year. That said, I took a lot of money for them. We tried to work it out last night but I’ve been there so long that my old computer records have been wiped. It looks like I made the bar something between £600,000 to £800,000 though.

It started being a drag in the last year or so however, and I’ve been close to packing it in, but decided to keep it on to the end of this term. Young Calum, who’s worked my station with me for the last five years, has packed it in now that his time at university is over, so we both went out in a blaze of glory last night. The DJs we’ve had the last couple of years have been especially rotten. All the friends that I used to work with behind the bar moved on, other than Calum. It just wasn’t fun any more. We used to have a great social life behind the bar, maybe 10 to 20 of us going out every Sunday night but we all just really keep in touch through emails these days.

Anyway, it’s done now. My last night ended with a Hulk-moment when I went on a rampage after one of the lads poured a bucket of ice-cold water over my head as a leaving gift. I hate getting soaked behind the bar because we usually work there to 5am, like we did last night, and that’s a bad time of the day to be wearing wet clothes at.

Here’s a picture of my work station, till one, and Calum and me taking a break in the pend after taking the kegs down there for the last time ever.

That's our till there. Till one baby!

He's a penis, he sucks a horse's penis, Calum Stankey is a horse's arse. You had to be there.

About bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

i am a mild-mannered reporter and a part-time bar man. guinness is my drink. john wayne is my hero. i am kind to animals
This entry was posted in Beer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m A Barman No More!

  1. Muhammad says:

    For a second there, I thought you were Batman no more.
    I’m relieved its not.

  2. bobmitchellinthe21stcentury says:

    Oh, I’ll always be Batman.

    😉

  3. jondejonjon says:

    A legend, Sir, a legend. One of the best barmen I’ve worked with, and I’ve worked with a few. The place won’t be the same without you.

  4. bobmitchellinthe21stcentury says:

    Cheers John, I’m sure I’ll still drop in for a few jars from time to time.

  5. Wow, this is very interesting. It looks to me like you are on to something. I am not very familiar, but have been looking for a way to improve my quality of life and make more cash. Can you help? I look forward to learning more about your program.
    Help Make Your Down Payment!
    http://www.giftsmartcash.com

  6. laura says:

    noone really cares, the place is shit anyways

  7. Get out of the Bar business man. The truth of the matter is in marketing I should have known. You should be able to market the cash gifting, gifting generating wealth to millionaires websites or programs throughout the internet. Original Cash Gifting is one of the best home programs or work at home programs or having a bar at home, out there marketing strategies are the best success for my revolutionary reverse half up programs in the bar and also the .5 up system in case somebody was to come along. Make sure you have a great support team like gifting mentor sites and gifting mentors is the cutting edge of the best support and training blogs. Very educational and even has a forum many of our leaders and cash gifting and gifters, gifts are there!

    Take care,

    Al G.

  8. Muhammad says:

    Did you ever get to yell ‘I Am Baytor!’?

Leave a Reply

