I’m the goddamn Batman homage! John Byrne does Frank Miller’s Dark Knight!

I love John Byrne. There’s a big section of the fan community that abhors him mainly for his opinions and outbursts, and forgets just how great a comics creator he is. I’m a huge fan of his work, but I also think it’s great that there’s this curmudgeonly old comics legend who doesn’t give a hoot and will delete threads or ban people from his message board if he doesn’t like what you say. I find things like his unfettered hatred for Wikipedia to be endearing.

Anyway, it’s a shame he doesn’t get more work these days. He seems to do a lot of commissions, which he will then post on his board. If I’m being honest, they are of varying quality, some terrible, some fantastic, but he did an absolutely cracking one this week – Frank Miller’s Dark Knight in the style of John Byrne. He also reveals in that thread that it was his idea to make The Dark Knight’s Robin a girl.

Holy homage Batman!

About bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

i am a mild-mannered reporter and a part-time bar man. guinness is my drink. john wayne is my hero. i am kind to animals
This entry was posted in Comics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m the goddamn Batman homage! John Byrne does Frank Miller’s Dark Knight!

  1. Muhammad says:

    I had a superficial knowledge of this guy’s work. I’d also heard he was a bit out there, but deleting threads he doesn’t like? Sounds like my kinda guy.

Leave a Reply

