It’s Superhero T-shirt Tuesday!

And yeah, I did come last, despite the t-shirt

This is from way back in 1997 when, as a fresh-faced mild-mannered reporter, I suggested to my new editor that it would make a great feature for me to take part in a 70-mile Burns by Bike Ride. For those that don’t, Robert Burns is Scotland’s national poet and that’s his old house in the background. The bike ride involved cycling enthusiasts going round the back-end of nowhere in the middle of Ayrshire, pedaling past various spots associated with Burns. Now they say you never forgot how to ride a bike, but incredibly I did. This was the first time in about eight years I had climbed on one. Then I had to get my picture taken at the start with this bloke, which meant all the proper cyclists shot off and left me, so I had to navigate the 70 miles by map. The cyclists did it around four to six hours. It took me 13. I did get lost though, so I did about an extra 10 miles.

About bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

i am a mild-mannered reporter and a part-time bar man. guinness is my drink. john wayne is my hero. i am kind to animals
This entry was posted in It's Superhero T-shirt Tuesday! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Superhero T-shirt Tuesday!

  1. Pat Curley says:

    I am a longtime cycling enthusiast, but I wouldn’t dream of doing 70 miles on a bike with nobby tires. Could you walk the next day? The last time I did 35 on a mountain bike, I couldn’t!

  2. bobmitchellinthe21stcentury says:

    I could barely move. I had work the next day and was a total wreck. Also, I never thought about sunburn and it was the hottest day of summer so far that year and I got wasted, because I hadn’t thought of putting on sunblock.

Leave a Reply

