Justice League of America Newspaper Strip: Chapter 1

Enjoy the World's Greatest Superheroes!

Starting today, and appearing every Monday from now on, you can thrill to the adventures of the Justice League of America in this cracking newspaper strip from Martin Pasko, George Tuska and Vince Colletta.

It began appearing in my local paper, the Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser, back in 1982 and ran for almost two years. I’ve never seen it reprinted anywhere since.

If the image below is too small for you to read, then you can click here for a larger version. Enjoy.

And click here for the large version of the colour Sunday strip.

This material is TM and copyright of DC Comics. It is being used without permission for non-profit purposes.

Look! Up in the sky!

What were the two of them up to alone on the satellite?

And here’s the same image with its original colouring.

Lovely stuff

And here’s an article heralding the newspaper strip, from back in the day.

I hope you enjoy the strips every week!

About bobmitchellinthe21stcentury

i am a mild-mannered reporter and a part-time bar man. guinness is my drink. john wayne is my hero. i am kind to animals
This entry was posted in Justice League of America Newspaper Strip and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Justice League of America Newspaper Strip: Chapter 1

  1. Martin Pasko says:

    Hi, Bob,
    If anyone’s interested, there actually was a B&W paperback collection from Tor Books in the ’80s. I believe it’s now out of print, but a Google search under “World’s Greatest Superheroes” might turn up a bookseller or e-Bay vendor peddling a used copy or two.

    It’s also worth mentioning that that I wasn’t the only writer on this strip, not Tuska and Colletta the only other artists. Paul Levitz and Paul Kupperberg followed after I left the strip to go into TV, and Jose Delbo and, I believe, Sal Buscema, carried on the art. By the time the strip became a Sundays-only feature c. 1982, Bob Rozakis was writing it and it turned into a Superman-themed “activity” page.

    I have some material in my files that your readers might be interested in — proof sheets of the dailies, color proofs, etc., if there are any hits on his stuff so far to indicate there’s interest, but I’d be willing to share them only if you’re willing to include a separate, “typeset” copyright and TM line acknowledging DC Comics as the owner of the material and clarifying that it is being used without their permission (which would cover you re. all the legal isues; generally, owners don’t complain about web “sampling” if you don’t infringe or undermine their legal claims). Why? Because a desire to behave with integrity requires me to honor my contract on this project, and I would violate the spirit, if not the explicit language of it, by “enabling” a copyright infringement. And BTW, per that same contract, I’m entitled to a share of any revenue from the use of this stuff, so before you get irritated with me, bear in mind that I’m being generous in assuming you’re not gonna make any coin off this site, and even if you do, I’m willing to give you a pass.

    That said, please understand that I feel honored that you’re enthusiastic enough about this stuff to memorialize it this way, and appreciate your interest.

    Cordially,
    Martin Pasko

  2. bobmitchellinthe21stcentury says:

    Hi Martin
    Thanks for your comments and advice, it’s a real delight to have you drop in. I’d like to reassure you that I do not make any money at all from this blog and never will, but I suppose I was being a little naive posting the page without any consideration for yourself or DC.

    I will of course amend the post to include a copyright and TM notice acknowledging DC Comics as the owner of the material, stating that it is being used without their permission. And I would of course refrain from posting any subsequent pages if you had any concerns over me doing so.

    The only reason I posted it is that I have a real enthusiasm for the work. Back when I was a kid living in Scotland in the early 1980s this strip was one of the very few places I could regularly enjoy reading superhero adventures as actual comics were very hard to come by where I lived.

    The strip definitely encouraged my lifelong love of comcis, and memories of it stayed with me throughout the years. I recently worked with the paper that printed the strip and took advantage of my time there to photocopy the strips from old bound editions, something which took a lot of lunch hours.

    There definitely seems to be some interest in the strip, there’s been about 250 hits since it went up a few hours ago and I’ve seen some fans talking about it on other boards with great affection.

    Once again, if you have any concerns about the use of the material, please let me know. It’s been great having you drop by, and I hope I have reassured you about my intentions here.

    Regards
    Bob

  3. Kevin James says:

    TUSKA-COLLETTA art? What could be better? Thanks and I hope to see more of these soon.

  4. David Calzadilla says:

    Gracias por publicar estas tiras. Son maravillosas y me traen muchos recuerdos de mi niñez.

  5. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is more than I expected when I found a link on Digg telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.

  6. Lee says:

    My God what a treat! I used to enjoy this strip, had the paperback Mr. Pasko referred to, and have been trying to find more than a scrap of it on the Internet for years. To stumble on the whole thing in one place — God bless you!

  7. Rick Morrissette says:

    I’m so happy to have found this! I had cut out every strip for as long as the strip ran in our local paper. Unfortunately, I must’ve thrown it away while moving years ago.

  8. Travis says:

    Bob, this is such a treasure-trove! It was never printed (or not long if it was) in a newspaper near my hometown growing up in Maine, but I had heard about it. I had seen a couple examples in papers when we traveled, but I was always dying to see more. Thank you ever so much for all the work you put into this and in sharing it with others.

    And now Marty has my interest in this paperback book from Tor; I never even knew about that one, but my recent searches on eBay and Amazon resellers has not yet turned up anything. I wonder if it included only the black and white strips or color, too?

    Many, many thanks to the original creators of this series, too!

    Travis

  9. Gregory Jones says:

    Bob,
    I happened across your site again after many years and was pleased that you were still sharing the re-colored JLA Sunday strips I gave you. It’s nice to see that people are enjoying them.
    Gregory C. Jones

  10. It was actually Sal Trapani who was among the artists who took over after Tuska left, not Sal Buscema.

Leave a comment